Hours of Operation

Monday - Friday: 9 am to 6 pm
Saturday: 9 am to noon
Closed Sundays and holidays

Please follow & like us!
Follow by Email
Facebook
Twitter
RSS Feed
Subscribe by email
Get new posts by email:
Archives

Please Meet Our August Student Pharmacist, Mackenzie Gill.

IMG_4645

We are so lucky to have two student pharmacists, Mackenzie and Moe, this month from The Ohio State University’s College of Pharmacy.  In this posting, we’d like to introduce you to Mackenzie.

Mackenzie Gill is a fourth year student who will graduate in May 2019 and then go on to practice as a pharmacist.

Here is what Mackenzie has to say about herself:

My name is Mackenzie and I am a fourth year pharmacy student at The Ohio State University, expected to graduate in spring of 2019 with my PharmD. I also received my Bachelor of Science in pharmaceutical sciences from Ohio State in 2015.

I was born and raised in Hilliard, OH. After living near downtown and campus over the past seven years, I am happily back to residing in Hilliard.

My decision to become a pharmacist did not spark from any crazy experience I had as child. Rather, both of my parents worked various jobs while I was growing up and were laid off during the recession in 2008. It hit our family hard and my parents struggled to make ends meet. At that time, I was in high school and my mother made me vow to her I would go to college and pursue a sustainable job, a career.

After research, and a memorable conversation with my high school counselor, I landed on pharmacy. I went into college majoring in pharmacy from day one, knowing that this is what I wanted to do with the rest of my working life. I knew it would satisfy both my desire to help people and my need for being challenged every single day. There is always something new to learn and I love that about this career choice!

My first job in a pharmacy was at Discount Drug Mart. After a couple of years working for them, I decided to switch things up and accepted a job offer at Walmart Pharmacy, which is where I still work today. Between the two, I have about seven years of experience working in a community pharmacy setting as both a technician and then as an intern.

Having been exposed to both a smaller chain and one of the nation’s largest chains, I feel confident that community pharmacy is where I wish to get a job once I graduate. I am excited to be here at Plain City Druggist for the month of August to gain exposure to the independent pharmacy world and to see if this is something I enjoy even more and wish to pursue in the future.

In my free time, you can find me with my two dogs, Dixie and Koda, that I am undeniably obsessed with. Dixie is a three-year-old Cavalier King Charles Spaniel mixed with Poodle. Koda is a 1.5 year old Beagle mix rescue. I love to take them hiking, swimming, kayaking, and anywhere else that is outdoors that allows us all to burn some energy. My ultimate dream job would be anywhere that I can work as a pharmacist and also work alongside my pups!

IMG_4644 IMG_E2270

 

Post to Twitter

Leave a Reply